Our Student Executive makes sure the voice of students is heard loud and clear. It sets policy and political priorities, coordinates campaigns, and holds the Sabb Team to account.

Executive is made up of eighteen representatives, elected by students during our annual leadership elections. Any student can attend its meetings, and everyone can submit ideas for consideration through Your Big Ideas – our online platform for students to suggest ideas to improve the University experience.

There will be at least seven meetings of Executive this academic year. All meetings are in the ground floor training rooms in the Students’ Union at City Campus, and all begin at 3pm:

  • Monday 2nd October 2017 – find out what happened here
  • Tuesday 14th November 2017 - find out what happened here
  • Thursday 7th December 2017 - find out what happened here 
  • Monday 15th January 2018 - find out what happened here
  • Tuesday 20th February 2018 - find out what happened here 
  • Thursday 22nd March 2018 - find out what happened here 
  • Monday 23rd April 2018 - find out what happened here 


Who are the members of Student Executive


Jim Yare (Chair) james.yare@northumbria.ac.uk


Sabbatical Officers

Simon Noble (President) simon2.noble@northumbria.ac.uk

Karl Robson (VP Education) karl2.robson@northumbria.ac.uk

Kristy Weegram (VP Activities) kristy2.weegram@northumbria.ac.uk

Tally Kerr (VP Communications) tally2.kerr@northumbria.ac.uk

Ryan Bush (VP Welfare) r.bush@northumbria.ac.uk


NUS Conference Delegates


Equality Representatives

BAME Rep: Salma Asghar salma2.asghar@northumbria.ac.uk

Disabled Students Rep: Chloe Robson chloe4.robson@northumbria.ac.uk 

Gender Diversity Rep: Gemma Trotter gemma.trotter@northumbria.ac.uk

International Students Rep: Shriniwas Kole shriniwas.kole@northumbria.ac.uk

Mature Students’ Rep: June Scott june.scott@northumbria.ac.uk

Women’s Student Rep: Katie Adams katie.l.adams@northumbria.ac.uk

Open Place Equality Rep: Jess Doyle j.doyle@northumbria.ac.uk

Sexual and Romantic Diversity formerly LGBT*: Tom Simms tom.simms@northumbria.ac.uk


Open Place Councillors 

Byron Paterson byron.paterson@northumbria.ac.uk

Julie Foster Julie.foster@northumbria.ac.uk

Jim Yare james.yare@northumbria.ac.uk

David Spoors david.spoors@northumbria.ac.uk

Diana Margine diana.margine@northumbria.ac.uk