Student Council makes sure the voice of students is heard loud and clear. It sets policy and political priorities, coordinates campaigns, and holds the Sabbatical Team to account.

 

Council is made up of 26 representatives – six Sabbatical Officers, twelve Faculty Lead Reps and eight Equality Officers. These are all elected by students during our annual leadership elections. Councillors hold meetings once per month during the academic year to set policy, update on their campaigns and hold each other to account.

 

Any student can attend a Student Council meeting and/or submit a policy proposal. Please use the template below to write and submit a motion to debate at Student Council: Student Council Policy Proposal Template

 

Email su.democracy@northumbria.ac.uk if you’d like to know more about attending a Student Council meeting, or view minutes from a previous meeting.

 

You can read the full list of current live policies, which Student Council voted on to set our political priorities, by downloading the document below: Student Council Live Policies

 

Our current members of Student Council are:

Chair of Council: Jordan Doran - jordan.doran@northumbria.ac.uk

President: Gaz Smith - su.president@northumbria.ac.uk

VP Activities: James Slater - su.activities@northumbria.ac.uk

VP Education: Ava Sjoberg - su.education@northumbria.ac.uk

VP Welfare: Grace Armstrong - su.welfare@northumbria.ac.uk

VP Sport: Emma Collier - su.sport@northumbria.ac.uk

VP Postgraduate: Rajkumar Chintakayala - su.postgrad@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Activities and Employability: Kieron Peacock - kieron.peacock@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Education: Becca Milne - becca.milne@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Welfare: Ike Pearson - ike.pearson@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Activities and Employability: Rohit Sarwate - rohit.sarwate@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Education: Fakid Labib - fakid.labib@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Welfare: Sophie Mckenna - sophie.a.mckenna@northumbria.ac.uk 

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Activities and Employability: Jemma Cottam - jemma.cottam@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Education: Dhrumil Shah - dhrumil.k.shah@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Welfare: VACANT

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Activities and Employability: Nerius Shah - nerius.shah@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Education: Jessica Hull - jessica.hull@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Welfare: Mollie Mcilvaney - mollie.mcilvaney@northumbria.ac.uk

Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Students’ Officer: Asish Krishna- asish.chandragiri@northumbria.ac.uk

Disabled Students' Officer: Lottie Harwood - lottie.harwood@northumbria.ac.uk

Gender Diversity Officer: Rey M Blewitt - rey.m.blewitt@northumbria.ac.uk  View Support for Trans* students here 

International Students’ Officer: Natalia Flis - natalia.flis@northumbria.ac.uk

Mature Students’ Officer: Oluchi Iloputaife - chinelo.iloputaife@northumbria.ac.uk

Sexual and Romantic Diversity Officer: VACANT

Students with Caring Responsibilities Officer: VACANT 

Women Students’ Officer: Hannah Davies - hannah4.davies@northumbria.ac.uk

                      

Click here to ask your Councillors a Question!                                 Click here to view Minutes