Student Council makes sure the voice of students is heard loud and clear. It sets policy and political priorities, coordinates campaigns, and holds the Sabbatical Team to account.

 

Council is made up of 26 representatives – six Sabbatical Officers, twelve Faculty Lead Reps and eight Equality Officers. These are all elected by students during our annual leadership elections. Councillors hold meetings once per month during the academic year to set policy, update on their campaigns and hold each other to account.

 

Any student can attend a Student Council meeting and/or submit a policy proposal. Email su.democracy@northumbria.ac.uk if you’d like to know more about taking part, or view minutes from a previous meeting.

 

Our current members of Student Council are:

Chair: VACANT – Email su.democracy@northumbria.ac.uk to apply

President: Emmanuel Kabengele - e.kabengele@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Activities: Lauren Bell - lauren13.bell@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Education: Claudia Shaw - claudia2.shaw@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Postgraduate: Rajkumar Chintakayala - r.chintakayala@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Sport: Rory Kavanagh - r.kavanagh@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Welfare: Anna Kemp – anna2.kemp@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Activities and Employability: Patrick Byron - patrick.byron@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Education: June Scott - june.scott@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Welfare: Grace Armstrong - grace2.armstrong@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Activities and Employability: Emy Edwin - emy.edwin@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Education: Anna Myreng - anna.myreng@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Welfare: Rahul Balla - rahul.balla@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Activities and Employability: Navaneeth Chand Thalluri - navaneeth.thalluri@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Education: Adele Smith - adele.l.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Welfare: VACANT – Run for this position in our Elections!

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Activities and Employability: Brontë Hiatt - bronte.hiatt@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Education: VACANT – Run for this position in our Elections!

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Welfare: VACANT – Run for this position in our Elections!

Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Students’ Officer: Divya Shada - divya.shada@northumbria.ac.uk

Disabled Students' Officer: VACANT – Run for this position in our Elections!

Gender Diversity Officer: Annabel Lee - aannabel1.lee@northumbria.ac.uk

International Students’ Officer: Nishchal Agir - nishchal.agir@northumbria.ac.uk

Mature Students’ Officer: Rey Blewitt - rey.m.blewitt@northumbria.ac.uk

Sexual and Romantic Diversity Officer: Ryan Carey - ryan.carey@northumbria.ac.uk

Students with Caring Responsibilities Officer: VACANT – Run for this position in our Elections!

Women Students’ Officer: Olivia Smith - olivia9.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Find out what was discussed in the previous academic year in the meeting minutes below. Keep an eye out for what will be happening at Student Council in 2019-20!

9th October 2018

7th November 2018

4th December 2018

20th February 2019

26th March 2019

26th April 2019

20th May 2019  

17th October 2019

11th November 2019

9th December 2019

11th February 2020

18th March 2020

21st April 2020

21st May 2020

 

Click here to ask your Councillors a Question!