Student Council makes sure the voice of students is heard loud and clear. It sets policy and political priorities, coordinates campaigns, and holds the Sabbatical Team to account.

 

Council is made up of 26 representatives – six Sabbatical Officers, twelve Faculty Lead Reps and eight Equality Officers. These are all elected by students during our annual leadership elections. Councillors hold meetings once per month during the academic year to set policy, update on their campaigns and hold each other to account.

 

Any student can attend a Student Council meeting and/or submit a policy proposal. Please use the template below to write and submit a motion to debate at Student Council: Student Council Policy Proposal Template

 

Email su.democracy@northumbria.ac.uk if you’d like to know more about attending a Student Council meeting, or view minutes from a previous meeting.

 

You can read the full list of current live policies, which Student Council voted on to set our political priorities, by downloading the document below: Student Council Live Policies

 

Our current members of Student Council are:

Chair: Gareth Smith - su.chairofstudentcouncil@northumbria.ac.uk

President: Emmanuel Kabengele - e.kabengele@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Activities: Lauren Bell - lauren13.bell@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Education: Claudia Shaw - claudia2.shaw@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Postgraduate: Rajkumar Chintakayala - r.chintakayala@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Sport: Rory Kavanagh - r.kavanagh@northumbria.ac.uk

Vice President Welfare: Anna Kemp – anna2.kemp@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Activities and Employability: Patrick Byron - patrick.byron@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Education: June Scott - june.scott@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Arts, Design and Social Sciences; Welfare: Grace Armstrong - grace2.armstrong@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Activities and Employability: Emy Edwin - emy.edwin@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Education: Martin Dyer - martin3.dyer@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Business and Law; Welfare: Rahul Balla - rahul.balla@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Activities and Employability: Navaneeth Chand Thalluri - navaneeth.thalluri@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Education: Adele Smith - adele.l.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Engineering and Environment; Welfare: Joe Blenkey - joseph.j.blenkey@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Activities and Employability: VACANT

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Education: Christabel Ofodum - christabel.ofodum@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty Lead Rep for Health and Life Sciences; Welfare: Sophia Roach - sophia.roach@northumbria.ac.uk

Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Students’ Officer: Divya Shada - divya.shada@northumbria.ac.uk

Disabled Students' Officer: Josh Palmer - josh.j.f.palmer@northumbria.ac.uk

Gender Diversity Officer: Annabel Lee - aannabel1.lee@northumbria.ac.uk

View Support for Trans* students here 

International Students’ Officer: Nishchal Agir - nishchal.agir@northumbria.ac.uk

Mature Students’ Officer: Rey Blewitt - rey.m.blewitt@northumbria.ac.uk

Sexual and Romantic Diversity Officer: Ryan Carey - ryan.carey@northumbria.ac.uk

Students with Caring Responsibilities Officer: VACANT

Women Students’ Officer: Olivia Smith - olivia9.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

                      

Click here to ask your Councillors a Question!                                 Click here to view Minutes